Kate Greenaway’s Book of Games


Kate Greenaway’s Book of Games

Kate Greenaway’s Book of Games contains a large collection of games and stories for children – to be appreciated by young and old alike. It contains such well-known and loved games as ‘Blind Man’s Buff’, ‘Hide-and-Seek’, ‘See-Saw’, ‘Oranges and Lemons’, ‘Hunt the Slipper’, and ‘Musical Chairs – King of the Castle’. A wonderful anthology, this ‘Book of Games’ is sure to delight both children and parents, with its fun amusements, and beautiful illustrations.

Kate Greenaway (1846 – 1901), was a children’s book illustrator and writer, and remains one of the most popular illustrators of all time. Edmund Evans produced her first book, Under the Window, in 1879, which was an instant best-seller and cemented her pre-eminent position. Her charming children in quaint costumes and idyllic scenes captured the imagination of the contemporary public – and continue to delight over a century after their initial publication. Presented alongside the text, her illustrations (first published in 1888) further refine and elucidate this carefully collated anthology.


With works such as Kate Greenaway’s Book of Games’, Pook Press celebrates the great Golden Age of Illustration in children’s literature – a period of unparalleled excellence in book illustration from the 1880s to the 1930s.
Our collection showcases classic fairy tales, children’s stories, and the work of some of the most celebrated artists, illustrators and authors.
We publish rare and vintage Golden Age illustrated books, in high-quality colour editions, so that the masterful artwork and story-telling can continue to delight both young and old.
On this website, you can find out about some of our best-selling authors, illustrators, and stories. We also have a full bookshop, an introduction to the Golden Age of Illustration, and a history of the fairy tale itself.

Please join our mailing list for exclusive news and offers.

Additional information



Book Size

Formats Available